Staten Island Beach Glass

After breakfast last Saturday with Meera, who regaled me with stories of her annual trip to India, I ventured spur-o-the-moment to a beach on Staten Island. My good friend, Susanna, and I discovered this secret beach last year after dropping off Jodi at the airport.

I was amazed at how many pieces of beach glass I found.

This is about half. The other half I pulled out of the muck of low-tide and are soaking now.

There were even some pink sea glass pieces, which are supposedly from the Depression era.

Some of the glass is very thick and in largish pieces. My mind fills with questions and makes up stories about where they came from. As in “Hilda was bored and wasn’t even listening anymore to what he was droning on about. She look at the shimmery water from the deck of their yacht docked at the Tottenville Yacht club. She gulped down the rest of her sherry and threw the delicate pink glass into the Raritan Bay. At that moment, she decided  that her life was going to change for the better.”

1 Response to “Staten Island Beach Glass”


  1. 1 Teri and the cats of Furrydance September 18, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    Wow…how sweet a place to find. I remember when I was in high school in the 60’s, babysitting for a family all summer on the beach and I found so much beach glass–somehow my mom ended up with it in a huge ‘brandy snifter’ type of bowl…I want it back!


Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


