My date Date with Mary

I am still flying high from my date with Mary Oliver last Tuesday night.

P1020446

I should confess, though, that I shared Mary with 500 or so other people who also came to hear and see her at Smith College including Shep, my good friend, B, and his fiance.

At times while she read, I closed my eyes to let her voice pour into my ears and pretended that she was speaking only to me. But then I would force my eyes to open … just to be sure she was really there on the stage with her silver hair and glasses.

Afterward, she signed my copy of her most recent book of poems. I was too nervous to say all that I wanted to tell her. Instead, I giggled, said hello and thanked her.

P1020448

Here’s one of my new favorites from Evidence:

“Prayer”

May I never not be frisky,

May I never not be risque,

May my ashes, when you have them, friend,

and give them to the ocean,

leap in the froth of the waves,

still loving movement,

still ready, beyond all else,

to dance for the world.

from Evidence by Mary Oliver. Boston: Beacon Press, 2009.

5 Responses to “My date Date with Mary”


  1. 1 m October 5, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Oh how happy I am for you that you made the opportunity to hear and see Mary Oliver….. May life continue to give you many more wonderful and soul enriching gifts, as you are to me!!!

  2. 2 susanna October 6, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    That IS a terrific poem – so full of love for life. I’m so glad that you were able to meet your favourite writer in person. Mary Oliver has inspired so many women, hasn’t she? And to hear her voice reading her own words…wow.

  3. 3 linda October 7, 2009 at 3:51 am

    lady, i am so jealous!

  4. 4 AE October 8, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    nice soft tears of bittersweetness on the corners of my eyes…thanks for being the voice of the voice from the voice…I love to hear it all, and also love ya too.

  5. 5 christina October 8, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    I so need to get some mary oliver and read her during these cold days and nights, here in the midwest.
    how have you been, my friend?
    xoxo


Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


