Taking a Deep Breath of Summer

I can breathe again, and, in the words of Nina Simone, “I’m feeling good.” I’ve been catching up on summer before it ends.

I’ve been to the Outer Banks, North Carolina

IMG_0165

with my mermaid nieces,

IMG_0163

catching up on girl time with my sister and sister-in-law,

IMG_0171

treating my nephews to temporary tattoos,

IMG_0176

acting like a local (how? just follow Shep),

IMG_0180

trying new beer at Dogfish Head Brewery in Rehoboth Beach, Delaware,

IMG_0187

Funny story: This beer was called “Creme Brulee” by Southern Tier Brewery. The adorable surferboy bartender with white-blond curls warned me. “You might not like the taste,” he said. “And it’s pretty strong. Why don’t you try a sip first?” I tried it and I liked it. I ordered a pint and finished it. I’m not sure what happened after that, but I woke up the next morning in bed fully clothed with my sandals on!
IMG_0183

I’m finding my way back to creating again after a hiatus.

IMG_0188

and snapping highway photos on the way home for future paintings.

Note 1: All photos taken with my iPhone (not bad, eh?)

Note 2: My bluefish sketch above was inspired by a New York Times Magazine photo by Zachary Zavislak. Look here for the article.

5 Responses to “Taking a Deep Breath of Summer”


  1. 1 susanna September 2, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    You know how to celebrate summer, my friend. Were the cases of beer that you brought home, the same ones you tried in Rehoboth Beach? Creme Brulee? Your drawing of the bluefish is good. You can draw, girl! And thank you for the sachet and the artwork that you brought back for me. The sachet is already in a drawer of clothing and the painting looks perfect next to two encaustic paintings of the sea (I’ll show you when you come over for dinner). Thank you. 🙂

  2. 2 susanna September 2, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    PS: And most importantly, I’m glad you can BREEEEAAAATHE!

  3. 3 Stephanie September 3, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    This looks like a perfect end of summer vacation…

    sounds like you are doing well,
    x..x

  4. 4 Aunt Sue September 14, 2009 at 2:50 am

    Maureen:
    Aren’t the deep breaths just the very best?
    lol

  5. 5 christina September 16, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    Deep sigh, for beauty. I love your fish. : )
    xo


Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


