Doing a Meme in my PJs

As boss lady me, I gave myself a snow day, and I’m still in my PJs, and I’m doing a meme, thanks to Kristen.

First name: Maureen

First concert: Elvis Costello at Jones Beach Theater, 1983

First job: neighborhood babysitter

First car: a 1970s sky blue station wagon that I shared with my sister, Sue

First kiss: Billy

First car accident: I was about 25. Someone in a maroon K-car made a left turn into my yellow Camaro as I was going straight on a green light through an intersection. He left the scene and the cops had no luck finding the person who hit me or the car. My then boyfriend and I returned to the scene the next day and found the K-car parked in the apartment building near the accident scene. It was driven by an elderly man who spoke only Russian. He did, however, have great auto insurance!

First pet: Ginger, the most wonderful mutt from the North Shore Animal League

First apartment: On University Avenue, across from the Rochester Museum of Art.

First alcohol induced sickness incident: I was a freshman in college, and I had Spaghettios for dinner. You don’t want to know the rest.

First job I wanted to do: Librarian of my own library

First favorite color: I don’t know. Now it’s green.

First favorite mythological creature: Neptune

First experience with death: Nana, my maternal great-grandmother, died when I was 12. I wasn’t allowed to go to the funeral.

First school attended: Lee Avenue Elementary School on Long Island, NY

First solo vacation: Ireland, 1987

First business trip: This assumes that one has had a job worthy of a business trip. Mostly, I had neither until 2005 when I attended a weekend conference in Hackensack, NJ. I stayed in a hotel down the street from the Ba-Da-Bing.

First major furniture purchase: A brown velvet couch for my office, last month. Until now, I’ve had hand-me downs and yard sale treasures.

4 Responses to “Doing a Meme in my PJs”


  1. 1 kristen January 29, 2009 at 3:06 am

    Ginger has to be the best pet name evah!

  2. 2 susan February 1, 2009 at 12:27 am

    great to get to read about your early years. elvis in 83 had to be bitchin!
    and how about in person? for real. me and the hubster are actually coming to brooklyn the last weekend of feb. coming down on wed. leaving on sun. so maybe fri night? 🙂
    just a thought.
    xoxo
    s

  3. 3 susanna February 1, 2009 at 4:40 am

    As librarian of your very own library, what would have been your favourite book section? And that couch looks great in your office.

  4. 4 ceanandjen February 1, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    So glad you did this! I love what your first job dreams were…and thank goodness for a little sleuthing and very good insurance! xoxo


Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


