Winter Storm Studio

During the weekend’s snowstorm, I spent time in my little studio. I haven’t been in there much lately, and it was in a neglected state. Sometimes it is the last place I want to be and avoid it intently, even though it’s the first thing I complain about not being able to do when I’m busy.

I had some inspiration from Misty to shake things up a bit with an exercise. My version is below.

p1010830

Then I whipped out the beginning of another canvas with my palette knife. It’s a fast process. Ah …………. fast feels good.

This is a painting of Southold, NY, from Soundview Avenue facing south across new vineyards to the red barn. Have you see it?

p1010829

And something magical happened when I looked out the studio window. A fox was  running down the street! I grabbed Shep and ran out the door to track it. We had only T-shirts on and quickly became covered with snow. It was exhilarating to see a blur of burnt orange against the white powdery snow as the fox disappeared back into the woods behind our house.

More live music in 2009 : Medeski Martin & Wood will be back in town February for a run of shows. Time to get my groove on!

5 Responses to “Winter Storm Studio”


  1. 1 Tina January 13, 2009 at 2:33 am

    I LOVE this post. I think Andrei would look at me as if I was crazy if I grabbed him and followed a fox in the winter…..in a T-shirt no less. The again I am certifiable “crazy” so this is something I would do.

    Great Pictures. I wish I had that kind of talent.

  2. 2 andrea January 14, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    I like what you’ve done so must check out what Misty is doing! Winter is great for wildlife viewing, suburban or otherwsie. I’ve been nose-to-nose (almost…:) with an owl in my backyard lately!

  3. 3 tina January 15, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    If you ever get a chance stop by my blod and see the two special little treats i left for you. You don’t have to resond because i realize they are kinda housewifey and cheesey (i know those are not real words) but I just think your blog is super duper creative. LOL

  4. 4 tina January 15, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    OK soor for the speeling mistakes i’m typing one handed with a baby on my lap…….story of my life and it’d very plain to read!

  5. 5 susanna January 17, 2009 at 2:26 am

    Let’s have an art playdate, okay? Now wouldn’t that be fun? We could dance around to Nina Simone and drink Starcrack inbetween brushstrokes.


Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


