Ice Box Cake

We are heading over to my sister-in-law’s for a pre-holiday shin-dig. Now that I’m an old married lady and actually have a sister-in-law, I decided to bring over a traditional dessert from my family.

p1010678icebox3

Ice Box Cake was something my grandma, Jessie, made every year. I did some snooping around the web, and it looks like this dessert goes back to 1920s when food was kept cold in iceboxes rather than refrigerators. I had one of these in one of my first apartments 20 years ago. 

When my grandmother died, my father took over the tradition. His are divine!

p1010683

I should have called him for a consult because I’ve run out of Cool Whip. Merde!

Off to the store. Meanwhile look at another blogger who did a fabulous post about Ice Box Cake here.

3 Responses to “Ice Box Cake”


  1. 1 susanna December 22, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    Ohhhhh…I’m going to try making this on the weekend. Jeff will LOVE an ice box cake.

  2. 2 Anon O. Moose December 23, 2008 at 12:17 am

    FRY IT!
    FRY IT!
    FRY IT!

    (Seriously, are you gonna fry it, or do I hafta come over there and fry it myself?)

  3. 3 Tina December 24, 2008 at 5:00 am

    I’m with Susanna on this one, I’m going to make this for our Christmas dinner tomorrow evening. Does it really have to set overnight night in the icebos or will 7 hours do.

    I LOVE the idea of this cake! Genious I tell you!


Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


