Clabber Girl vs. Calumet

On Thanksgiving, my dear friend Joe made a dessert — the amazingly good Fried Pumpkin Cake with Orange Frosting. Who knew the guy could bake?

p10106281

He also brought over an extra can of baking powder for me. Little did he know that I’ve been fascinated with Clabber Girl and wanted a can of my own since I first spotted it months ago.

I love the name. I love the art.

The current baking powder in my kitchen is Calumet. And I have to admit I had the same fascination  … the Indian Chief icon (cheesy, paternalistic and wonderfully inappropriate), the artwork, the name.

p1010633

I disclosed my baking powder fascination to Shep this morning. It wasn’t much of a risk, though — my husband has to be understanding about the oddball things I find interesting. I told him I wanted to try a bake-off … a comparison experiment  … something like Alien vs. Predator … involving brownies rather than movie monsters.

As I suspected, he didn’t miss a beat. He recommended that I turn to Retrocrush for inspiration. Retrocrush is pop-culture podcast by Robert Berry. He talks about comics, TV shows, personalities, music, film — all from the 70s and early 80s.

Listening to Berry is like visiting an old friend from high school and sneaking down to the wood-paneled basement to smoke weed out of an ancient bong and giggle until you cry.

retrohq2

Berry’s versions are Green Lantern vs. Aqua Man, Justice League vs. The Avengers, and  Catherine Bach vs. Jessica Simpson on The Dukes of Hazzard.

Sidebar: Berry looses much of his charm in print. His voice is priceless. That’s him above in his Green Lantern T-shirt. Photo by Nicky Hamlin, 2005.

Clabber Girl vs. Calumet is not even close to as sexy as Daisy Duke. So I’m ditching my idea for now, but go find Retrocrush on iTunes. Just keep the giggling under control so your Mom doesn’t catch you.

2 Responses to “Clabber Girl vs. Calumet”


  1. 1 Anon O. Moose December 6, 2008 at 2:53 am

    Maybe a reassessment of Hot Fuzz will be in order after hearing that RetroCrush called it “brilliantly funny”…

    [audio src="http://retrocrush.buzznet.com/podcasts/retroCRUSH-118.mp3" /]

    …maybe not.

  2. 2 maddie December 7, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    I must say i love a man who can cook:)


Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


