Date with Myself

Listening to: Over the Hills and Far Away by Led Zeppelin

For more than 10 years, I’ve practiced being  my own best friend. The important word is practice; sometimes it goes well and other times I ditch it … without even realizing. This past Saturday, after being cooped up sick, I resumed the practice and took myself on a hiking date. 


I went to an oasis about 20 minutes away from my home — the former home of the late American heiress Doris Duke. She apparently loved to garden and transformed parts of this 2,700 acre estate into something beautiful including 11 indoor gardens.

I’d been meaning to visit this place for some time now.

 

These leaves look like fish swimming in the water. 

I found out later that the 11 indoor gardens were permanent closed and dismantled this past May. Dang it. I can’t believe I missed them. One of them lit up at night (I “borrowed” this photo below).

 Here’s a link to a Flickr photo-stream of other of Doris’s indoor gardens.

5 Responses to “Date with Myself”


  1. 1 kristen October 29, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    i’m going on a date this morning, once i can get myself to the shower and presentable. goodwill stores are good like that, a way to chase away gray and also, to find dress-up clothes for the playroom.

    a coffee date with you would also be lovely. xo

  2. 2 Aunt Sue October 29, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Maureen:
    3 of my NJ friends and I went to Doris Duke’s place about 3 years ago when the indoor gardens were open. Magnifico!! However, it was in the winter and the outdoor was not as spectacular as I would have liked. It was some scene though.
    Hope your better.
    Love, AS

  3. 3 susanna October 31, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Hey, you got in! Well, sort of. That place always seems closed, doesn’t it? I heard that the State has taken over the grounds and that they are going to make it more visitor friendly and with greater access. And rumour has it that they might open up part of the place for nearby NJians to grow their own little vegetable gardens. Wouldn’t that be cool?

  4. 4 Tina December 10, 2008 at 4:15 am

    Beautiful photos! I love the idea of being your own best friend, my only problem is lately I don’t want to hang around with myself……strange!

  5. 5 Tina December 10, 2008 at 4:17 am

    Those gardens are truly spectacular, I am so envious.


Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


