My Grass is Blue

Thanks for your good wishes on my upcoming nuptuals. Woohoo!

Swampboy and I went to the Greyfox Bluegrass Festival this weekend, as we have for the last 7 years. One of the best parts of this festival is that you can bring your own instrument. They offer classes as well as “masters” sessions with top players during the day. Then throughout the day and into the wee wee hours of the night, you can walk through the camping section and join the jams. Sometimes the “masters” are wandering around joining jams as well. This year, I brought a borrowed mandolin and Swampboy broke out his acoustic bass. We had lessons and jammed together at our own little campsite. My fingertips are all calloused … a good sign for a string player.

Every year I fall in love with a new artist or a new-to-me artist.

This year it was fiddler Casey Driessen.

He plays all the old-time stuff with new funk and swing hanging on the end. He wears red shoes. He plays on his own and as part of the Sparrow Quartet with Abigail Washburn, Ben Sollee, and Bela Fleck. And he’s pretty funny besides.

I’m throwing out a chance to hear him on the “Masters” stage at the Greyfox last year. It’s a mix of him playing fiddle and answering questions about his training, influences, etc.

Leave a comment or e-mail me … and I’ll send you this CD.

2 Responses to “My Grass is Blue”


  1. 1 susan July 25, 2008 at 2:04 am

    ooho ho ho oh! bela fleck! he plays with him? he’s gotta be good.
    😉
    i still cherish my heads cd you sent, so had to be the first on this one.
    hope you are calmed down now and revved up at the same time!
    this event sounds like a lot of fun. happy summer moe!
    xo
    susan
    pssst. how’s the paintings coming?

  2. 2 Tina September 19, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    I bet you’d love of the crazy Bluegrass festivals down here in Kentucky. LOL


Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


