I’m out at my parents house helping to prepare for a yard sale next weekend. Their basement is a mish-mash of antique furniture and tools, family nostalgia, and stuff my brothers, sister and I have left behind.

We unearthed so many interesting things — an admission ticket to the 1964 World’s Fair, a collection of clip-on bowties belonging to my grandfather, old loveletter/postcards, used Paris Metro tickets.

We also went through a 3-foot high pile of LPs. They can be divided into 2 piles — my parents’ collection and the ones that my siblings and I bought when we started to collect our own music.

I have to admit that it was pretty cool to listen to some of the music from my parents’ collection on my Dad’s old turntable. Mom and Dad had music on all the time at home: Dionne Warwick, Peter Paul & Mary, John Denver, the Mamas and the Papas, The Kingston Trio, The 5th Dimension, Simon & Garfunkel …

I had to laugh when I came across this one:

 

I can’t remember who defaced Julie, but I’m pretty sure we all got in some kind of trouble for it. She looks better this way, don’t you think?

 

2 Responses to “”


  1. 1 andrea June 1, 2008 at 3:13 pm

    What a treasure trove! I’ve been combing garage sales for old LPs to use as painting supports. No luck. And the ticket stub is a study in popular design from the era (not to mention inflation). That illustration/design style is so popular again. And did everyone have that album? I recognized it immediately. “Our” Julie was defaced in a different way: goatee I believe. 🙂

  2. 2 susanna June 3, 2008 at 2:35 am

    Your parents are going to have the BEST yard sale! Lucky neighbors! Hope you all have fun and make lots of moolah! 🙂


Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


