Sedona Home

The idea of home is a theme that is continues to come up for me.

Home in the house I own and the office I rent.

Home in how I feel about certain people in my life.

Home in my body.

Home in the world, and in different places I visit.
Around this time last year, Swampboy and I visited Sedona, Arizona.

dsc03676.jpg

It was so unlike the Northeast. I can still see the oranges and reds when I close my eyes.

dsc03696.jpg

I felt completely flooded with visual images everywhere I looked. It was not, however, an overstimulated variety of flooded, like I feel whenever I am in a mall. This was different.

dsc03732.jpg

The vast emptiness of the landscape balanced the flood, so that the way I experienced this place was soothing.

dsc03736.jpg

I felt at home there.

scan_741282958_1.jpg

I brought a traveling watercolor kit and painted a few quick studies while I was there. Just like every other home I know, Sedona has recently begun to come out of me in deeper creative ways.

p1000338.jpg

  • Boynton Canyon, digital photograph, 2007.
  • Tree stump by Bell Rock, digital photograph
  • Wooden sculpture near Arcosanti, digital photograph.
  • Black cow from the car, digital photograph
  • Bell Rock study. Watercolor on paper. MC, 2007.
  • Sedona work in progress. Oil on canvas, 2008.
0 Responses to “Sedona Home”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


