Balancing Act

For the past year, I’ve been teetering on the edge of what I can do.

Balancing Act

Working a full-time job and building my private practice. I knew it would be a challenge but I’m usually up for that. A year later finds me worn out. What’s the expression … “stick a fork in me ’cause I’m done.”

Swampboy has been singing a funny little song to me for the past 6 months when I talk about why I haven’t quit my full-time job yet.

It usually goes like this:

Him: “Why don’t you just quit now? We can do it financially and you need to stop this crazy schedule.”

Me: But I have to stay to finish supervising my graduate student intern until the end of her school year. And then there’s the Women’s Trauma Recovery Group that I run … and …”

Him: (singing like Kim Wilde) “Set me free, why don’t you babe? Get out of my life, why don’t you babe? ‘Cause you don’t really love me, You just keep me hangin’ on….”

It’s become a joke between us, because he does not think that my current employers give a damn (as in “you don’t really love me/you just keep me hanging on). But recently I’ve come to acknowledge that there all kinds of things that SCARE me about this change.

Hello there fears … I know you well.

So, I’ve decided to give myself a deadline of 18 weeks. This’ll bring me right to Memorial Day Weekend, and I can step off of the high-wire.

Sculpture at University of Rhode Island. Swampgirl digital photograph, 2006.

5 Responses to “Balancing Act”


  1. 1 kristen February 6, 2008 at 1:19 am

    i know this state well. mine was condensed in one month of torture, but in the end the decision i came to, was right.

    i think that your deadline is perfect and you’ll spring forward from the wire with confidence and joy. xo

  2. 2 kristen February 6, 2008 at 1:20 am

    i just left a comment and i have no idea where it went, grr.

    i think your deadline is perfect and you’ll spring from your wire in 18 weeks with confidence and exuberance. xo

  3. 3 susan February 7, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    holy kaka swampie. I LOVE THIS PAINTING. quit your damn draining job and PAINT. this IS your calling. wow. seriously moe. this is amazing. is it for sale? trade? hello? bueller?
    where are your other paintings!!!!!?

  4. 4 Kim February 10, 2008 at 4:12 pm

    I am so glad I found your blog! This is an incredibly beautiful painting! I love the layers and the depth of the colors you have used with it! I also love the way it makes the viewer really look!

    Thanks for sharing it!

  5. 5 susanna February 10, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    Jodi and I will be there with a bottle of wine to congratulate and celebrate your stepping off the high wire. đŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


