Postcards from the Universe

I have a thing for postcards. From the dispensers in NYC bars and restaurants to museums and art shows, I love to collect them. I usually send them to friends and family while on vacation. Postcards are kind of like the precursors to text messaging. There’s no back and forth talking, and it is, by its very design, short & sweet.

Today I found myself on the receiving end of a postcard (thanks you two).

 

sauercermen.jpg

Interesting mindless facts about post cards:

  • First created in 1861 in Philadelphia
  • In 1908 more than 600 million postcards were mailed in the U.S.
  • Erotic postcards first appeared in France in 1910
  • The study of postcards is called deltiology


2 Responses to “Postcards from the Universe”


  1. 2 andrea January 20, 2008 at 12:00 am

    I just read in my New Book that back in the infancy of postcard sending/swapping people didn’t write messages on the back.


Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


