Mary Oliver & Molly Malone Cook

One of my very favorite Christmas presents was from Swampboy.

mollymary2.jpg

I saw this new Mary Oliver book a few months ago and knew I must have it. As never before, this book gives me a glimpse into the 40-year plus relationship between the photographer/gallery owner Molly Malone Cook and the poet Mary Oliver. I have cherished Mary’s poetry for a long time and have all of her published works. Her prose and poetry weaves a beautiful narrative through the book against the beautiful black and white portraits that Molly took over the years.

This is the first collaboration that I know of between the 2 life partners. And I hope it is not the last. Molly died in 2005

The last page broke my heart:

“After Note

How often now I just sit, with my

elbows on the desk and my hands

holding my face bold and upright,

and staring into the past. “

6 Responses to “Mary Oliver & Molly Malone Cook”


  1. 1 anna January 15, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    That afternote was a killer. Have you read “Thirst” yet? I cried through most of it. It was so moving for me. Imagine having someone you love by your side for forty years, and to wake up one morning, and they’re gone.

  2. 2 Susanna January 16, 2008 at 2:44 am

    Oh that is a beautiful and sad afternote. I hadn’t even heard of Mary Oliver before starting a blog and now I see how influential she has been to so many other women.

  3. 3 Jessie January 18, 2008 at 3:30 am

    As I read that quote, I was sitting here with my elbow on the desk holding my head up with my hand. It is so strange to me how Mary Oliver has a way of always capturing emotions like that. Well, actually, I’m not even sure if those are her words (?), but they capture what she is capable of. The book looks fascinating, especially since I know nothing about her partner.

    Also, I wanted to say thank you for the link to the woman who does dog portraits. I remember you posting about her (last summer?) and I fell in love with her work then too! 🙂 She really seems like an interesting woman. And I love her colors and brush strokes! Yes, I think this is going to be fun. 🙂

    Oh…and I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you about that print. Eek! Please forgive me? :)-

    love ya!
    j.

  4. 4 angela January 21, 2008 at 12:23 am

    i’ve recently found some Mary Oliver that touched my heart.
    what a beautiful gift you’ve received, i would love to have a look in this book…off to try to find a copy for myself.

  5. 5 Isabel January 22, 2008 at 4:56 am

    I got here through Susanna’s blog, and I am so glad I did. I am a fan of Mary Oliver’s work, but didn’t know this book. Bookstore here I come!


  1. 1 Mary Oliver « Swampgirl Trackback on July 10, 2009 at 2:32 pm

Leave a Reply

My Necklace Bars on Etsy

30 Days of Yoga

The Yoga & Art Circle

Can you come out and play with me?

Can you come out and play?

Follow moeclancy on Twitter

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Swampgirl Blogs About


